Hermann Opgenoorth made Honorary Fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society

Hermann Opgenoorth, IRF

Prof. Hermann Opgenoorth, IRF

Prof. Hermann Opgenoorth of the Swedish Institute of Space Physics (IRF) has been made an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society. He joins IRF's founding director Prof. Bengt Hultqvist and Prof. L. Lindegren of Lund Observatory as the only people from Sweden among current honorary fellows. This award honours foreign nationals based overseas, typically in recognition of their services to astronomical and geophysical sciences such as through distinguished leadership of a school, observatory or laboratory; outstanding services to national or international scientific organizations; exceptionally important work in editing scientific publications; influential work in education and public outreach in these sciences; or specially outstanding distinguished work in the history of these sciences. More information about the award:

Created 2012-01-20 09:39:45 by Rick McGregor
Last changed 2012-01-23 15:54:07 by Rick McGregor

The Swedish Institute of Space Physics (IRF) is a governmental research institute which conducts research and postgraduate education in atmospheric physics, space physics and space technology. Measurements are made in the atmosphere, ionosphere, magnetosphere and around other planets with the help of ground-based equipment (including radar), stratospheric balloons and satellites. IRF was established (as Kiruna Geophysical Observatory) in 1957 and its first satellite instrument was launched in 1968. The head office is in Kiruna (geographic coordinates 67.84° N, 20.41° E) and IRF also has offices in Umeå, Uppsala and Lund.